Aller au contenu
Rechercher dans
  • Plus d’options…
Rechercher les résultats qui contiennent…
Rechercher les résultats dans…
Animal

I was a vivisectionist

Messages recommandés

I was a vivisectionist

Saturday March 31, 2007
The Guardian

It all started when I was an undergraduate doing a medical degree. We were introduced to it gently; we started by watching videos of experiments on anaesthetised rabbits and recording the results. Later we carried out experiments on frogs' legs and then hearts. We took it seriously, and 15 years later I still remember the physiological principles we learned in those experiments. So it all seemed worthwhile.
When I started my research degree, I had to go on a course about how to look after animals under anaesthesia and how to kill them humanely. Animal experiments are highly regulated in Britain; you need a licence from the Home Office and have to take exams and practical tests to prove your competence. The course was frightening. We watched a video on how to kill animals - masked people in lab coats smacking animals over the side of a table or breaking their necks - and then we calmly discussed ethics, as if it all made sense. The trouble was, it didn't - but I must have missed the bit where we were encouraged to question that.

When I started in the research lab, it was my turn to do the deed. We were closely supervised and there wasn't any pressure to kill animals unless we were confident we could do it properly. But it didn't seem right to do the experiments without doing the killing as well. I could feel the guinea pig's heart racing when I picked him up; he wasn't the only one who was nervous. And then I did it. I hit his head over the side of a table to stun him, then cut his throat so he'd bleed to death. The sound of skull hitting table will never leave me; 10 years on, I still flinch if I hear a similar noise.